The State Fair Men's Amateur Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious Amateur Championships in the West. Under the leadership of the Sacramento Golf Council, the committee realizes the importance of the Championship in Sacramento, Northern California and the West. The Tournament Committee will strive to conduct the "Premier Men's Amateur Golf Championship in the West" by continuing to provide a professional, experienced committee, tour-like venue and always focusing on the players.

History of the Championship

On July 14th, 1925 a meeting of the Board of Directors and Tournament Committee of Del Paso Country Club was held. The question of holding a golf tournament during the State Fair was agreed upon. The event would take place at Del Paso C.C. on Labor Day Weekend. A week before the inaugural event, the Sacramento Clearing House donated a perpetual trophy costing $1000 to be awarded to the State Fair Champion. The inaugural event was won by Geo Richie, from the Olympic Club.

Ever since, the State Fair has been the premier amateur championship in the area. To continue this premier status, the championship evolved every year, always focusing on the players. The following lists some of the significant changes to the State Fair Championship:

1958 - State Fair goes from Match Play to Stroke Play
1964 - With too many entries, the State Fair Handicap moves to Ancil Hoffman
1996 - The State Fair Women's is created & hosted at Bartley Cavanaugh Golf Course
1997 - The State Fair Senior is created & hosted at Mather Golf Course
1998 - The State Fair Junior is created & hosted at Haggin Oaks and Mather Golf Courses
2003 - The State Fair Masters is created & hosted at Bing Maloney Golf Course
2003 - The State Fair Men's Amateur Championship receives National Status
2020 - The State Fair Masters evolves to the State Fair Mid-Am accepting players age 30 and above
2022 - The State Fair field is limited to 108 elite players
2024 - The State Fair Championship celebrates its 100th year

The single most influential person in the success of the championship is Frank Freer. As the Tournament Director for over 50 years, Frank has dedicated himself to the championship and is always a favorite among the players.

State Fair Past Champions